April Mid-Month Meanderings III

Seattle is a fickle beast.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april pear blossom

Espaliered pear blossoms

Or maybe I am. Just as soon as I swear I’ll never, ever (ever, ever) remove my new rain boots and rain hat, the sun peeps out. When it stays for 5 or 6 days, as it did this past week, I am so deliriously happy that I pull out the sandals and refuse to go inside. Everything starts feeling possible. The sun will actually shine again, the air will warm, and the mud will end.

Food will grow.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april

over-wintered swiss chard and lettuce

In a moment of sunny glory, I ordered 3 yards of compost, planting mix, and mulch.  Which is approximately a metric shit-ton (or so) of product.  Over zealous? Most definitely.  I also am getting a large truck bed full of Zoo Doo next week.  It is a lot of material, but needed. I haven’t been good about adding to our soil fertility over the years and I’ve worked it hard.  It was time to pay back into my system.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april fruit berries rhubarb

Freshly mulched bed. There is an italian plum, 2 columnar apples, 4 berries (marionberry, boysenberry, and 2 tayberries), and some rhubarb. Still small peas are in the right bottom. To the left, behind this area is the asparagus patch. Give this bed another month or two and it is a jungle of pollinator plants!

Major bird geekery going on.  Crows build a nest in one of the madrone trees so I’ve been watching them fly around with twigs and whatnots. The various finches, pine siskins, sparrows, chickadees, starlings, and bushtits are hosting a hell of a party.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april

A Northern Flicker hung out on the deck for several minutes while I watched.

We have had a few birds just sit on the railing of the deck or fence despite us being fairly close.  They don’t normally sit on the railings at all.  I’m pretty curious about this new behavior…any birders out there know why?  Does it have something to do with mating?

grow and resist mid month meanderings april native plant garden

Red-flowering currant and other freshly mulched native plants surrounding the patio. Salal, indian plum, native strawberries, and nodding onion.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april native plant garden

Patio area and fire pit. The serviceberries are in full bloom.
We're going to paint the chairs this summer. Want to vote on a color?

grow and resist mid month meanderings april native plant garden

More mulched native plants- oregon grape (mahonia), kinnikinnick, and salal.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april chives and lettuce

The chives are starting to blossom

grow and resist mid month meanderings april chives and lettuce

Lovely lettuce mix

First winter that we have kept greens growing in abundance year-round!

grow and resist mid month meanderings april asparagus patch

Hi asparagus!

We might be letting go of the asparagus.  We don’t produce enough asparagus to warrant having the dedicated bed that asparagus needs. In fact, little of it even makes it into the house…we munch it straight from the garden. We could probably add 3 more large blueberries and a lot of strawberries in that area.   We’ll decide this fall.

I’ll round out the meanderings with a bit of chicken love.  This is Aspen, a Speckled Sussex. She is sweet, curious, and plays well with others.

grow and resist mid month meanderings april speckled sussex chicken

Looking for snacks

This entry was posted in chickens, Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April Mid-Month Meanderings III

  1. dixiebelle says:

    Your photos are gorgeous, particularly love the chives! Lovely to see all the Springtime garden goings-on. It is Autumn here, still lovely, but on the downhill slide to cold & frosty! We have two speckled sussex, but their tails are so much smaller than yours.

    • Thanks! I get so happy when the chives start to get the small bloom set! It always means that spring is really here/coming quick. Forget peas– chives are my spring marker plant =) It is funny how different the same breed of chicken can look. I love the speckled. I alternate between her and our rhode island red as my favorites. Sweet ladies!

  2. methylgrace says:

    regarding the chair color, I vote for hot orange, to complement the orange in the fruit bed, and the yellow stems of the bamboo near the patio. Hope it won’t clash with the pink ribes.

    • Totally! I’m in for bright orange as well! My favorite! We have a bright purple bench and a turquoise bistro table. I love the bits of bright & vibrant. If nothing it makes me smile in the winter to see some form of color out the window =)

    • Inder says:

      Oooh. I am totally down with orange too. Orange is definitely one of my very favorite colors!! The garden looks lovely. We’ve had the weirdest wettest Spring, and for a while I don’t think much was going on in our backyard besides breeding mosquitos, but things are finally starting to perk up.

  3. Seasonsgirl says:

    Lovely photos… what do you make with the swiss chard? I have a couple recipies but always like to get new ideas.

    • Thanks! With the swiss chard, I mostly just tear it up in mixed green salads. If I cook it it is usually added to a frittata or scrambled egg. Or sliced thin strips into cooked pasta & chickpeas. What do you like to do with it?

Leave a Reply

