March Mid-Month Meanderings III

I’m home alone this weekend. Which, to be honest, is super awesome.  I love the Ladyfriend and Babylady (obviously), but it is the first time I’ve been home alone (or anywhere actually) for more than about 9 hours in over 4 years. It was time. I didn’t know how much I needed some space, until the Ladyfriend graciously offered it up. She knew I needed space even more than I did. She is smart one. I was falling behind on so many things and was pretty close to losing it.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march

The extra space allowed me to notice to a few things I had ignored. Like fonts. Fonts on pictures. I love fonts and there was no one here to save me from myself.  Let’s just face it- a Seattle garden in March needs all the help it can get.  Things aren’t exactly bursting around here!  Take a peek though because before we know it the jungle will return!

grow and resist mid month meanderings march

That is my re-seeding arugula in the front left. I just let it go wild. And it gives me salad. Win. That is my hose that I never put away. Just being honest. It is the 3rd mid-march meanderings...I can keep it real, right?

grow and resist mid month meanderings march
Pretty isn’t she? No? Ok, you are right. She is functional though. And if we were to have any usable surfaces in the house, necessary.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march plant starts

Moving on…

grow and resist mid month meanderings march  asparagus

grow and resist mid month meanderings march rhubarb

grow and resist mid month meanderings march backyard chickens

The rhubarb is hiding under the pots to protect from the chickens and their dinosaur-like feet.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march children gardening

We planted 4 new columnar apples a few weeks ago. Have you tried them?  They are amazing and grow perfectly in limited space.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march black currant

Black currant in its 2nd year. Fingers crossed for some berries!

grow and resist march mid month meanderings blueberries

Blueberry row- we planted a few more last fall, so I think there are 7 or so now.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march swiss chard

Swiss chard, still going strong (under hoops)

This year we have kept ourselves in assorted greens (swiss chard, kale, arugula, mache, and lettuce) all winter.  Yay!

grow and resist mid month meanderings march swiss chard

grow and resist mid month meanderings march garlic

Big garlic and leek patch- all looking healthy!

grow and resist mid month meanderings march overview with hoop house

I’m so pleased with how the hoop houses performed over winter.  They look a bit battered there because I’ve rolled up the ends and sides a lot and starting to squeeze things under cover.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march native plants early bloom

The native plant garden around the patio is really filling in nicely and the birds love it. The flowering red currant and indian plum are always the first to leaf out and bloom.

This is the area we see best from the living room. The birds have been amazing this late winter- so many northern flickers, juncos, goldfinches, pine siskins, robins, and stellar jays lately (and the usual starlings and crows).  Spring lovin’ is definitely on their minds.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march indian plum

grow and resist mid month meanderings march native red flowering currant

grow and resist mid month meanderings march apricot blossoms

I took a bunch of cuttings/thinnings of trees and they are all blooming in pots.  I don’t know that they’ll last at any rate, but it is fun to watch.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march plant cuttings in bloom

Ready for some chicken love?  I made a sign earlier this month before my launch party (go on… check out my new business!)

grow and resist mid month meanderings march chicken name sign

grow and resist mid month meanderings march chicken dust bath

grow and resist mid month meanderings march chicken kisses

And, my dirty one. Yes, she is getting a bath tomorrow. She is no stranger to a warm bath, but this is her first for the sake of her filthy head. Seriously. What the hell has she been up too? Spinning on her head?  Because she usually looks like this.

grow and resist mid month meanderings march march dirty polish chicken

A look at March Mid-Month Meanderings past: 2011 and 2010.

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to March Mid-Month Meanderings III

  1. Pssst – your check out my new business link isn’t working : )

    I love the fonts on pictures – they look great. I know exactly what you mean about needing some alone time – I can get a little undone when I don’t get enough….

  2. patrick says:

    everything looks pretty awesome there. we are actually gettting a lot fruit trees starting to break open on account of the amazingly warm weather we have been having in detroit. a little disturbing, especially since we should have plenty of cold weather yet which will blast off those fruit blossoms.

  3. Toxicity-2-Purity says:

    You give me so much inspiration. I wish I had a yard like that. Baby steps for me, but you give me the drive to move forward with it

  4. We could be sisters in another life!! I have a similar chicken sign and also never put my hose away. The greenhouse, though? I’m embarrassed! Yours is so full and brimming with little seedlings that I feel just a little bit lame.

  5. Inder says:

    Hey, your business website looks awesome! I wish I could hire you! Your garden looks great. Spring is almost here!

  6. Pingback: To Bathe a Chicken | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

