May Mid-Month Meanderings II

It seems my “Mid-Month Meandering” posts are tending to be more like “Later-in-the-Month Meanderings.” But whatever. You understand right?

Let’s get right to it.  No, actually I have a bit of news first!  We will be on the West Seattle Edible Garden Tour again this summer.  It is happening July 9th and if you are local I’d love to have you drop by!  More details as we get closer.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings radish

Oh radish, I adore thee. Apparently so does the Babylady. We've been eating them straight out of the garden. A little shirt wipe of the dirt and popping them in like candy. Toss the greens to the chickens and everyone has had a treat. We are saving this one for my dad coming tomorrow because "Bapa likes radishes."

grow and resist may mid month meanderings bee and rosemary blossom

Bees! They were buzzing all over! Go pollination!

grow and resist may mid month meanderings child garden tools

Babylady has a new tool box (old apple crate we got for free)

grow and resist may mid month meanderings wisteria

Wisteria starting to bloom. This is actually the first year it has bloomed so we are excited! It makes the coolest shadows when the sun is shining! It grows up next to the shed in the Babylady's garden. Which I suppose I haven't shown you yet. I was going to this month but there was too much junk in front of it. Next month...

grow and resist may mid month meanderings strawberry and bloom

Itty bitty strawberries!

grow and resist may mid month meanderings speckled sussex chicken

The still-unnamed Speckled Sussex chicken likes the tool box too. Isn't she cute?

grow and resist may mid month meanderings speckled sussex chicken

She also likes the parsley. I planted a lot of parsley this year because I never seem to plant enough to do anything with. It is in various stages of growth all over the place. Unless the chicks get it first.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings potato

Potatoes are popping up. I planted them late so they are getting a late start. I am guessing from the look of this it is an "All Blue." Not that I actually remember. I was cleaning up the yard yesterday and found the labels from 4 varieties of 'taters. Also planted were German Butterball, Yukon Gold and Rose Finn.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings cabbage

What is a few nibbles amongst neighbors? I'm not diligent enough to avoid some pesty partakers. But I'm cool with that. I don't know what else is growing around it~ it is that time of the year where I have no idea if things are weeds or sprouting seeds I have sown.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings mint

Minty drink anyone?

grow and resist may mid month meanderings borage

Borage is Back! And back and back and back...this stuff self sows all over. Luckily it easily plucked out if it pops up where you don't want it and the bees adore it. Since it is so prolific I'm going to investigate some of the many culinary and medicinal uses of it. Stay tuned!

grow and resist may mid month meanderings columnar apple blooms and forget-me-nots

One of the 2 columnar apple tree blooms. I moved this tree in the later winter and it seems happy with the new arrangement. A reader told me the flower in the background was a forget-me-not (thanks!) back before it began to bloom. I love it.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings bee and rosemary bloom

Another bee. I can't help it! I love them!

grow and resist may mid month meanderings new bottle edging

Part of the new bottle edging. Recycling at its best. Sadly, even though the bottles were piling up in the driveway, we didn't have enough to finish it at the moment. Time for a party?

grow and resist may mid month meanderings new sheet mulched planting bed

A newly sheet mulched are for planting in the driveway. It is about 8 inches of partly composted leaves, leaf mold, uncomposted chicken poop & coop shavings, grass clippings and coffee grounds. It is now covered in cardboard and some partly broken down straw. Depending on how quickly it breaks down we'll plant in fall or spring.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings native plant and patio plantings

I don't tend to show you the area around the deck and patio as much, but I really like it. The area has grown in so nicely the past few years (in fact- those native strawberries need thinning something fierce.) The giant madrone tree is just beyond the picture and is where the birds hang out.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings vine maple native plant and patio plantings

The vine maple finally woke up. This is the same area but on the other side of patio.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings native plant and patio plantings

It is untidy just as it should be. Scattered leaves. Spreading nootka rose plants. Unfurling ferns.

grow and resist may mid month meanderings native plant and patio plantings

One of the red osier dogwood shrubs. I rooted a bunch of cuttings earlier this spring as part of my Take Back Our Damn Hill project. They are happily potted up and waiting for fall to go in the ground.

Next month? Hopefully loads of edible plant pics!  Most things were so small they just depressed me.  We have a lot of lettuce (still to young to harvest) and we’ve eaten several meals with fresh picked asparagus.  All of the berries are looking fantastic!  The spinach is nearly pickable. Perennial herbs are popping back to life. Walla-walla onions and garlic look great.  So, there are things growing. They, like the rest of Seattle, are just ready for a bit more good weather.

Last year this time? Yes, I cried a little reviewing that bit of glory.

This entry was posted in chickens, Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May Mid-Month Meanderings II

  1. I love your monthly meanderings, Meg. Your speckled sussex is so darned adorable. I’m glad you included the link to last year for comparison, too. Now I know where you got your beautiful header photo and what it is! Today (um, maybe tomorrow) I am finally going to plant out my gigantic tomato plants.

  2. Traveling Mommy says:

    Bapa is hopping on a jet plane and coming for my radish little babylady!

  3. Poppy says:

    That radish is so adorable.

  4. I feel like my home life would be even more awesome if it involved unnamed chicken love. 🙂

  5. It’s my first try growing potatoes this year, and I’m growing some Rose Finns, also. Mostly because they’re little and cute, and my dog is named Finn, too. Fingers crossed…I’m a little anxious about them. I need to get some of those cool little apple trees…I hear that they’ll grow even down here in GA. Looks like things are coming along nicely! And if things are too busy to post your mid-month meanderings by mid-month, that simply means that life is good. Enjoy it! 🙂

  6. Inder says:

    Lookin’ good! My garden is pathetic this year. I’m praying for good weather this weekend so that I can do a little more work out there. I’m thrilled that my husband pruned a giant overhanging tree, creating a lot more light, but I’m not so thrilled that a good part of said giant overhanging tree is now scattered around my backyard. Have you noticed that branches tend to look bigger on the ground than in the tree? I have. Sigh. Anyway, your garden looks wonderful. I hope things are lightening up a little in your life and in your skies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

