Vacation and Getting to Know YOU!

I’ve just come back from 3 days mini-vacation with the Ladyfriend (sans Babylady). I imagine I don’t need to tell you how necessary this was.  Having a kiddo is awesome…and it is hard.  Even though our kid is pretty much the most amazing kid I could have dreamed up.  Every cliché they say is annoyingly true.

We needed to have some space and time to reconnect and giggle. We love ourselves some giggling. Lately though, there hasn’t seemed like much to giggle about.  That seriously had to change.  We left the Babylady, the dog, 4 grown chickens, 8 chicks and a zillion seedlings with the Ladyfriend’s parents and hit the road.

Have I mentioned how amazing both sets of our parents are? We are so damn lucky.  When you can go out-of-town without a worry and include in your list of instructions things like “If Calypso gets sick, kill her. Really.” …you’ve got a good thing going. (*)

A three-year-old human is enough. But chickens that are not yet integrated into 1 flock, chicks that need frequent food replenishing, older chickens that get let out/in )and are potential tasty treats for the very close raccoons), the recently sick Calypso, seedlings that need to stay moist and dog that is just plain neurotic…it is a lot.  Then toss in an “oh, and by the way, there have been a lot of break-ins around here lately so head’s up” before driving off.

grow and resist north park grocery seattle mural sunflower

Awesome mural at the North Park Grocery in Seattle

Anyhow.  Isn’t this mural amazing? It is part of a mural in north Seattle done by artists from here.

Welcome YOU!

None of this is the point of this post however.  It seems a bunch of new readers have found your way to Grow&Resist.  You know some stuff about me through the posts. You might have even given a run through the soul-baring “About” section.

Over the past 16 months I have gotten to know a handful of you.  And I love it!  The rest of you? I’d love to know something about you. Yeah, YOU.

So, go on. Tell me something. Need a prompt?  Do you have a blog you’d like to share with the readers and me?   Where do you live?  What would you like to read more about?  If I already know you, go on- introduce yourself to the others. Every one of you has something great to add!

(* note/clarification: I don’t want Calypso killed. She was just really ill for unknown reasons the week prior and we were going to need to cull her. It would have been the humane thing to do. I’ll post about this soon. Probably. She’s alive and well, but no longer laying.)

This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Vacation and Getting to Know YOU!

  1. Hi there! I think I’ve been reading your blog for about a month or two now, and I’m a super-avid urban gardener in Atlanta, GA, and a restless creative and writer type. I’m blogging too, over at http://www.openlotusgarden.com. It’s always a treat to see a new post of yours in my inbox, and those chick photos had me smiling for at least an hour. Something about their awkward cuteness and the formality of a staged portrait had me giggling. They’re ridiculously cute. 🙂

  2. Meg says:

    Okay, I’ll stop lurking… I’m another Seattle Meg, a gardener, wanna-be chicken herder (but the husband says no more heartbeats, even if they provide eggs, unless the oldest cat approves), who really, truly identifies with your “about me” fact #40. 🙂

    And that dark side Meg is going to be out more and more, if we don’t see some sunshine soon! My garden is a full month behind last year….and too many things are just not coming back to life like they should…

    🙂 Thanks for sharing you with us!

  3. Katie says:

    When our neighbors are on vacation, my daughter and I often feed their chickens. Our instructions are “if anything happens to the chickens, make soup!” Which, luckily, we’ve never had to do although we do love collecting the fresh eggs.
    I’ve been abandoning my blog lately because life was just crazy busy and we got felled by several rounds of germs. But I’m going to try to get back to posting about my experiment in homemade living. 🙂

  4. Found your blog through the TBUH site on FB, loved your political take on the term homesteading and have been enjoying your posts as much as my own parallel life will allow.

    Me? Basically I’m like you but straight and with two kids and no dog. Doing the Urban Homesteader Seattle Mom Blogger gig and trying to keep up on everything while staying slowish and saneish. Some days it goes better than others. 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

    PS: I like the chicken butt pictures. Is that weird?

  5. Nate says:

    I’m a pretty new reader here – I’m Scottish, queer, a tiny-small-time blogger, and love cooking as well as gardening. I have pretty much the same ideal job you mention in your about section (number 28).
    I think I got here via some urban homesteading links in a thread on folia. I stayed because I really rather enjoy the writing style and chicken pictures! I used to keep them when I was a kid but our current property doesn’t allow for them, even if we had the space =(
    As for what I’d like to read? More of the same, please!

  6. Hello Meg! Its Ashley (one of the old Q Center people!). I am living in London (which maybe you know?) with my partner. On my blog I go by Agatha, and I write about food and feminism with my friend, Agnes. I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now and love it!

  7. I found your blog through TBUH as well, and found your writing really thought-provoking. I’m trying to get this more sustainable urban homestead-ish thing working for me in my little apartment (a bit at a time, admittedly) while I finish off my dissertation and try not to go crazy. Fun times, but completely worth doing, I think.

  8. Poppy says:

    I am one of the parents mentioned in your blog, and I’m here to report that taking care of babylady and all the other animal and vegetable critters at your spread was kick ass hard work for an old codger like myself but was a total joy! Ant time.

  9. Ellen says:

    Found you through TBUH as well. I cook and garden but blog more about cooking than gardening… I have several blogs/sites and each are focused on one area but I’m feeling the desire to bring them all together somehow. New to chickens so have been really enjoying your posts on those, plus the other stuff.

  10. Jenni says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, but will introduce myself now since you asked. 🙂 I live in Philadelphia and garden in the city. I also love preserving food, so I look to your blog for inspiration. I’d also love to keep chickens one day, so I enjoy reading about your experiences.

  11. Kate @ Snowflake Kitchen says:

    I forget where I found out about G&R… I live in eastern Connecticut. In 2010 I really got into self-sufficiency and food preservation. I have big plans – a garden, lots of fruit trees, maybe chickens and bees… so many of the homesteader-like projects I see here will have to wait until we have a place of our own (right now we rent). Anyway, hi – I really like what I’m reading so please keep it up 🙂

  12. Eileen says:

    Hello! Eileen here! I recently discovered your blog and I think it’s really great! I live in Eastern Washington, having just recently moved back from Pennsylvania. I have loved veggie gardening since I was a kid, someday hope to expand to chickens, bees, and more fruits and veggies. Like Kate, above, I just love the idea of homesteading, but I too must wait until I’m not renting…

  13. Wow! Thanks for responding!
    Ashley- Thanks! The “formal” chicken photos crack me up too! They are pretty fidgety now though, so probably no more for awhile =(
    Meg- Ugh. I hear you. The garden is so far behind last year. Sigh.
    Katie- Yay! You are back!
    Erica- Seriously hard to be slow (& sane). I previously only knew the uber-productive way of being. My “way” is being tested. And, I agree- the chicken butts are the best!
    Nate- Glad you are here! Looks like your garden & plants are coming up great!
    Ashley- (hi!) I didn’t know you followed! Awesome to know & find your blog. I am terribly jealous you are in London!
    If Not Here- Excited to read more! Good luck with dissertation! (And the dreaded question- what are you writing about?)
    Jim- Thanks! We needed it! And glad you didn’t have to cull Calypso!
    Ellen- What kind of chickens did you get?
    Jenni- Thanks! Your seedlings are looking great and your tomatoes are huge!
    Kate- Your dill scones look fantastic! I missed the april-dill challenge, but I have to make them. I love savory scones!
    Eileen- we want bees too…next year. Fingers crossed!

  14. Lacy says:

    Hi! I’ve been reading you for awhile now – I won the companion planting book awhile back. I’m in West Seattle, raising chickens and gardening wtih my girlfriend and her husband (otherwise known as the NGP or non-gardening partner). We sort-of blog here: http://ourgardeningadventures.blogspot.com/ though it is often after the fact and not very up to date. Currently we are rebuilding our amazing garden space in our new home (moved in December) and adding a new friend or two into the garden mix since we have so much extra space here! We also sold our first eggs last week which was super exciting and fun 🙂

  15. Gretchen says:

    Greetings! I too am a (West) Seattle gardener, canning enthusiat and blogger. I believe I found a link to your site on one of the canning blogs last summer (food in jars or tigress in a jam?) Anyway, I check periodically to see what’s up at your little plot of heaven in the city. Thanks for the invite to introduce ourselves to the reading and blogging community. Wishing all of us Seattle gardeners warmer weather!

  16. sarahlee says:

    I have been reading for about a year now; and always loving it, even though i wonder how i can never manage to get as much into my blog each week: http://disappearinglawn.wordpress.com/ feeling a bit down about that, but doing what I can with the weather that I’m given. I live in Duluth, MN that’s the northern part and it snowed three inches yesterday and all day today- most of if didn’t stick. I have a small flock of chickens, three empty bee hives and some gardens, with grapes, two apple and one cherry tree.
    And actually, my partner showed me this blog, how she found it I have no idea. I really love chickens and cooking – keep it up!

  17. Traveling Mom says:

    I am Grow and Resist’s mom and believe me, I would never be able to kill one of the chickens! Calypso is a cutie. Hopefully, we will get to Seattle towards the end of May.

  18. Eva says:

    Hi, I´m Eva from Hamburg, Germany. my partner and I live in a flat with a fosterdog, we have a small garden down the road. I dream of a house with land in the countryside and a flock of hens. I love my bike, but we also own a car.
    We don´t know many people like us here, so I´m so glad about the internet, although I´m mostly to shy to say hi … so thanks for the invitation!

  19. brittney says:

    I think I found your blog through Sustainable Eats. Like you, I love to garden, cook, can and keep chickens. My husband and I live in Everett and we’re going on our third year of managing a productive, year-round garden. We grow most of the produce we consume and have been eating fresh salad greens all winter long. This is our second year of keeping chickens and this winter we took a bee keeping class. We’ve currently got a lot of projects in the works so we didn’t feel ready to take on bees this year, but hope to next year. I am an obsessive planner (urban planner by profession) so my planning skills have me perpetually planning/thinking about the garden. I love to cook so growing food fuels my passion in the kitchen. I love reading your blog and seeing pictures of your garden. Thanks for the invite to introduce ourselves.

  20. Julia says:

    Hey I’m so glad there are so many people who love Grow and Resist as much as me! I come here for all sorts of things, but mostly to hear Meg’s point of view which is both hilarious and on point. I am a mama to a little boy, some chickens, a garden and a totally un-neurotic cat and we live in New York’s Hudson Valley.

    Meg- I’m repeating what you already said, but you are SO lucky that you have folks like that. We’ve never gone away for a weekend, and that sounds so delicious. Everybody needs to giggle sometimes. Good for you!

  21. Thanks again everyone!
    Lacy- That is great you sold eggs! Where did you do that? I plan on doing it when the new batch starts laying. Assuming they don’t all kill each other I mean =(
    Gretchen- West Seattle represent! Your photos are beautiful! Hopefully you got to enjoy the warmth this weekend.
    Sarahlee-how long have you had the bees (i’m assuming they haven’t always been empty?) I don’t know anything about bees but really want to get them next year so need to start learning! Hope the snow stops for you soon!
    Mom- yep, we’ll see you in a few weeks!
    Eva- Hi! I’m so glad you did say hi! Do you blog? (I’d love to know about it if you do) Is your garden like an allotment? Or a community garden space? I am not sure how the set up is in Hamburg.
    Brittney- Thanks! It was fun to read about your planters! Where did you take your beekeeping class? I’ll be doing that soon.
    Julia- we are incredibly lucky & privileged to have 2 amazing sets of grandparents. They are a lifeline for sure. This summer we’ll get the added bonus of the Ladyfriend’s brother living near us all summer. He lives in RI so is eager to get a lot of Babylady time. whew. Wish our kids could play and we could grow up play =)

  22. Jen says:

    I “introduced” myself a few months back over email and continue to love reading your posts. My downstairs neighbors just got baby chicks, and while I’m excited, have to say, reading your chicken posts makes me a little nervous!

  23. Danielle says:

    I tend to pop over here a couple three times a month. I think I found your blog through the Spice Rack Challenge, which I’m also doing. I’m Danielle from Calgary, Canada. I have a backyard garden (though not as large as yours) but no chickens as they’re agaist city bylaws (lame). I live here with my husband of 2.5 years. He’s pretty cool.

  24. Elizabeth says:

    Hello! I’m a bit of a lurker, but will comment when prompted. I’m in my mid-30s and living in the Midwest right now (recent move for my partner’s tenure-track job). We’re hoping to purchase a place we can at least raise chickens and a garden this fall. I will be starting my PhD in the fall as well – in hopes of influencing public policy positively. I write when I have the time to work on my crafting at quiltingforhearthandhome.blogspot.com.

  25. Lis says:

    Hi. I came to your blog via my daughter’s posting one of your pieces on FB. We just moved to the Far Left Coast (northern Oregon beach area.) No garden space at apartment except for container-gardening. Slugs and snails and voracious birds! Closest community garden is 16 mile-round-trip. No chickens. Lotsa tourists, ‘tho. They offer similar amusement factor w/o the need to glove-up!
    Love reading your blog. Sending warm-and-sunny-thoughts all the way up and down the coast.

Leave a Reply

