Spring has Sprung

Like I have mentioned, 2011 is not off to a good start.  My awesome Dad is ill. My back is still not better. The Babylady is three. Which means she is no longer a sociopath but is a mix of tyrant and comedian.  It is difficult to predict which because 3 year olds are also incredibly labile.  And I don’t need to tell you about the world at large. There are no adequate words for the state of the world.  It is an almost ridiculous simplification to merely say it ridden with injustice, unrest and tragedy. Yet, I have no idea what else to say.

I’ll spare you the rest as I’m pretty sure you don’t come here to hear all that.  But my heart is breaking for my family and for the world at large.

In an effort to take care of myself (shocking, I know) and soothe my soul, I actually let myself rest and allow some of the hope of spring to come wash over me.   I wandered around the garden to really peek at what is going on.  Want to take a look?  While it is nowhere near the budding lushness that was about the same time last year, the garden is still showing promise, growth and rebirth.   And with the sun shining I found a few moments of peace.

grow and resist spring has sprung daffodils

Daffodils are just plain happy!

grow and resist spring has sprung asparagus

I spotted the first 3 asparagus spears poking their little heads up! Yay! It is their 3rd year so we should be able to harvest a good amount this season. Woot!

grow and resist spring has sprung cabbage

Hello there little cabbage in recycled bottle cloche!

grow and resist spring has sprung chickens

Move over Annie! I'm coming in! Just before Calypso actually climbed on to Annie's head. Mind you, there are 2 other nest boxes. But they all like the middle one and will stare down the current user of the box until they are done laying. Crazy chickens. BTW, I think this is the buff orpington the pecked our new chicken the other day. Brainless balls of feathers.

grow and resist spring has sprung plum

The Hollywood Plum is the only tree blooming (other than some natives such as the flowering currant). The others all have buds and/or are starting to develop leafs.

grow and resist spring has sprung daffodils

And more daffodils. Plus a random rusty cool thing we found at Second Use.

That is all friends! I hope your Spring is starting out with plenty of hope, sunshine and health!

This entry was posted in chickens, Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring has Sprung

  1. Meg, I am so sorry that things are so rough right now. The garden can soothe like no other, I agree, and I’m glad you are enjoying it! Beautiful pictures!

  2. Daisy Driver says:

    Hang in there, things will turn around. My little one just turned 4 and while watching them grow up is hard, I continue to be amazed by the person she is becoming much like I do with my older two (13 and 18). With you as her guide she will be awesome!

    The world will continue on, there are still plenty of good people in the world and while we don’t all agree on how or what the world should be, it will continue to BE and we will learn, love and live. And many of us will thrive and shape a new generation and hopefully make the world a better place.

    I will keep your dad in my thoughts and wish you all well.

  3. Stacy says:

    I’m with you, Meg! This has been a super rough winter for me too and these sunny days we’ve had have been the light at the end of the tunnel. We are so close to summer…hang in there!

  4. I’m so glad you took a moment to see all the beautiful things pupping up. Daffodils are always my first clue that warm weather is near by. Yours are lovely! I hope you saw the mountains on Friday. They were stunning.

  5. Thanks all for your sweet words! Come on summer (or at least a sustained spring!)

  6. Inder says:

    It’s true: It’s very, very hard to feel depressed while gazing on daffodils. 🙂 Hugs.

  7. Barbara says:

    Sorry to hear you’re feeling down. The state of the world is conducive to that, but I, too have faith in humankind finding solutions. What’s happening in Northern Africa is exhilarating, for one thing. Have you considered installing raised beds to help with your back problem? I just built one and am thrilled with it.

  8. Daisy Driver says:

    To Barbara’s point – I have a neighbor who was told he would not be able to garden on his lot because it was too wet – really? Tell a gardener he can’t garden? He now has raised beds he made out of concrete blocks that are about waist high to allow plenty of drainage and he has enough excess to sell at our local farmers market! While I think you already have raised beds, you might consider building them up higher. I see him out there sitting on his “wall” harvesting and working often.

Leave a Reply

