Spice Rack: Cardamom Purple Rice Pudding

March Spice Rack Challenge brings us cardamom.  I really like the flavor of cardamom though for some reason I don’t often use it. In fact I can’t remember the last time I used it in anything.

I was going to make a Cardamom Ice Cream, but lately I have become obsessed with various forms of Lemon Buttermilk Sherbet (and Grapefruit Buttermilk Sherbet and last evening, Blackberry Lemon Buttermilk Sherbet).  So, I’m pretty much covered in the frozen dessert arena.

My next thought was the fantastic Cardamom Pretzels at Cafe Besalu.  They are perfect. As is everything they make. This is hands down the best place for pastries I have been to in this country. There is no comparison. I know, I know, I live not far from Bakery Nouveau but I believe everything at Besalu in hands down better.

But I didn’t make the pretzel. I knew I would be disappointed when it came to comparing to the original. Why suffer that?!

The Ladyfriend is getting bored with her packed lunches and loves rice pudding. So I tried out making some rice pudding packed in canning jars for easy transport.

purple jasmine rice for rice pudding grow and resist spice rack challenge

Isn't this rice awesome looking? It is purple jasmine rice.

Cardamom Spiced Rice Pudding

(adapted from Alton Brown)

  • 1 cup cooked purple jasmine rice (I used this for the fun factor, it called for basmati)
  • 1 cup 2% milk (it called for whole, so you could use either. 2% is what I had)
  • ½ cup heavy cream
  • ¾ cup coconut milk (I used plain)
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cardamom
  • optional: raisins and/or crushed unsalted pistachios
purple jasmine rice for cardamom rice pudding grow and resist spice rack challenge

Cooked purple jasmine rice. Pretty huh?

  1. In a large sauté pan combine the cooked rice and milk over medium heat until starts to boil.   Decrease heat to low and simmer until the mixture starts to thicken (about 5 minutes) stirring frequently.
  2. Increase heat to medium, add cream, coconut milk, sugar and cardamom. Cook until the mixture starts to thicken again, about 5 to 10 minutes.
  3. Once the mixture begins to thicken, remove from the heat.  Now you can stir in the raisins and/or pistachios if you are using. I didn’t.
  4. You can transfer the mixture to a bowl or individual bowls/cups.  Either way you’ll want to cover with plastic wrap touching surface of the pudding. Refrigerate.   I used small single-serving size canning jars and they worked perfectly.
cardamom rice pudding grow and resist spice rack challenge

Pinky-Purple Pudding Cups!

Kitchen Confessional: One of my not-so-secret kitchen fears is cooking milk. It is silly. It is irrational. But it is true. I have 2 exceptions and those are:  making macaroni and cheese and making red velvet cake frosting.   But for some reason anytime I see a recipe that calls for heating milk I think “nah, too much trouble.”   Ridiculous. I mean, it just isn’t hard.

What is hard for me is “starts to thicken”?  Does that mean as soon as I can tell it has started the thickening process? Or as soon as it is visibly thickening?   This type of decision is troublesome to me.   In the case of the pudding, I went too far. I waited until it was visibly thickening. I’d err on the side of pulling it early. The pudding, while tasting great, was a bit firmer than I’d like.

cardamom rice pudding grow and resist spice rack challenge

A bit firm, but tasty!

Make this pudding but take it off the second it starts to thicken, which will seem quite runny!

This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spice Rack: Cardamom Purple Rice Pudding

  1. Mamajack says:

    This is beautiful – looks really lovely! Indian rice puddings, fyi, are usually runny and liquidy but this one looks like it was formulated to be thicker. European ones are more eggy, more like what we think of as a ‘pudding.’ I grew up on the european kind, so it took me a while to get used to what I eat at Indian restaurants but now I really love it. Inspiring; i may make the old lady some like this. And i love the idea of spice rack challenge – may check that out.

    • Yep, I wished I would have taken it off the stove sooner as I much prefer it runnier, but the taste is good. Learning! Next time I’ll follow my instinct and pull it sooner. Yummy though!

  2. Nicole says:

    What a great idea using the purple rice. I love it! I have a difficult time with pudding as well. I find if you overcook it that there is not much you can do, but eat it right away. If you let it set up just long enough to get cool (maybe two hours)it won’t be quite so thick as if you leave it set overnight.

  3. Looks just beautiful, Meg. And sounds delicious. I love, love, love rice pudding and I love cardamom. I’ve been meaning to make some pudding, now’s the chance! Love the purple rice…

  4. Daisy Driver says:

    Thanks for the run down on the runny vs firm, I like mine on the firm side so yours would be perfect for me! Looks beautiful and a great lunch treat.

  5. Stacy says:

    Delicious! I’m not eating dairy anymore, but I may have to try this anyway. I love coconut! Did you see my cardamom oatmeal post? http://seattleseedling.com/2011/02/cardamom-ginger-steel-cut-oatmeal/ It was delicious! And Hot Cake’s (at the farmers’s market) cardamom ginger apple pocket pie?! Amazingly delicious! 🙂

  6. aastricker says:

    Yum! And the puddings are beautiful. I think using the jars was a great idea. Do you think lids would be fine or is plastic wrap the way to go??

  7. Wow this looks amazing. I love the color.

  8. Pingback: Plant Sale Season Begins | krista and jess

  9. shayne says:

    I read through your post and had to stop several times for kids so sorry if I missed it, but where do you find purple rice, I have never seen it before and it is so pretty

  10. Pingback: Cook It 2012: Cheese! | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

