March Mid-Month Meanderings II

March has been a labile lion. I feel the need to tell you that I am 100% over it. Perhaps the rest of my life is feeling a bit overwhelming right now…but I gotta say, the rain is not helping. At all.

Last year in March things were looking a tad more lively.  In fact if you look back at last February (2010) there was already asparagus coming up and just as many things budding. Boo. Hiss.

I’ll save the full-on garden shots for when there is something visible happening in the garden, but for March I’ll just give you a few close-ups.

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

Crocus! I think you are really late to the show this year. I love them and all their purple-ness. And I'm pretty sure this was the only sunny day.

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

Mint! In the summer it fills the metal container providing me with ample boozy drink fixin's. Mmm, moscow mules. Tasty mojitos. Fabulous lemon-mint sparklers. Sigh. Summer. Please come.

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

ok, now I'm just playing with my new camera. =) This is the flowering currant.

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

The only outside seeds to have come up. A few radishes. Come on girls! I need a radish & butter sandwich!

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

The Babylady has officially chosen her summer reading spot. I find this endlessly endearing. Mostly because when I was still pregnant and the Ladyfriend and I were installing the pain in the ass bamboo barrier I kept saying that if I was a kid I would have snuck in the bamboo bed and read. Plus, she is an awesome kid so I find much of what she does amazing.

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

More camera playing. Don't fault me, the garden is bare friends! The Indian Plum again.

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

Some of the gazillion tomato starts inside growing their little hearts out. Grow babies grow! Cuz it is gonna be tough when you go outside! Seattle summers just aren't made for you. You gotta be tough!

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

The Hollywood Plum showing a bit more buds and blooms!

march mid month meanderings grow and resist

Hi daffodil! Way to Rise Up! You are a bit late to the party this year, yet you are still ahead of your unblooming sisters. So, way to go!

 

So there you have it friends! A march look around the garden.  Not much to share, but it is coming. Next month there will be a busting out of all things edible. I’m sure.

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to March Mid-Month Meanderings II

  1. Stacy Brewer says:

    Yay for new cameras! I’m jealous of your little radish sprouts…mine haven’t budged yet. :-/

  2. Lise says:

    That’s lush and prolific compared to our garden this time of year!

  3. Pingback: March Mid-Month Meanderings III | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

