Duck Prosciutto, Astronauts and Grief

So, my Charcutepalooza duck prosciutto is seemingly not done. I checked in with the twittering meat-curing folks and based on their advice I think I’ll check it tomorrow.

In other news, I have come to the realization that, not only do I completely suck at asking for help and am chock full of angst, but I also don’t know how to grieve.  Could it be that I’m 40 and have not actually let myself ever truly grieve?  Oh, yes friends, it seems it is true.  And, apparently, I’m afraid if I start to grieve I’ll then realize I want to be an astronaut* or some crazy ass thing and have to grieve the loss of that.

I’ll tell you…my mind is a tricky lil’ minefield.  It would actually be impressive if it weren’t so, you know, real.  Rest assured,  2011 is starting off determined to knock the wind out of me and kick my ass.

(*Ed. note: I really don’t want to be an astronaut. Not that there is anything wrong with that.)

So anyhow, until the damn duck breasts are done prosciutto-ing themselves, I’ll leave you with some gratuitous chicken pictures.

grow and resist chickens

I think our chickens are scheduling a break in. Knock, knock? Anyone home?

grow and resist chickens

The Annies & Thirsty Boots getting their dirt bathing hole just right.

grow and resist chickens

The Annies & Thirsty Boots snuggled up in a sunny dirt hole they made.

This entry was posted in chickens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Duck Prosciutto, Astronauts and Grief

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love that the chickens look, at least from this photo shoot, to move as a team. Cuddling in the same place, breaking in at the same time. Clearly they have figured it out: strength in numbers. They join together to support one anothers need for ‘sun bathing’, dirt bath preparation, and run-of-the-mill break ins. See, asking for help is a good thing. Sending you more love than this little comment box can hold.

  2. Traveling Mommy says:

    Oh, I miss the chickens – they are so cute how they stay together for support and warmth. When do you get the next little ones? I do know that if you had wanted to be an astronaut, you would have been the best one ever! We sure know that you are the best patient advocate!
    How did you start this duck thing? Did you go buy some duck and where do you go to buy some duck? Does that tell you how clueless I am about the world of ducks?
    We love you!

  3. Memaw Elise says:

    Your chickens by the door are asking, “Where is our mommy? Maybe she’ll come out soon.”
    I admire your willingness to look at yourself and share your process with us. We’re all here cheering you on. I love you, Elise

  4. Pingback: June Mid-Month Meanderings II | Grow & Resist

  5. Pingback: Tidbits from the Road: In Iowa | Grow & Resist

  6. Pingback: Presenting the Girls, 2011 | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

