November Mid-Month Meanderings (at the End of the Month)

Why, hello there!  It is the end of the month and I’ve yet to post a look around the garden.  I could say I’ve been busy. Unmotivated.  Preoccupied.  All would be true.  But the truth is that there just isn’t much going on during November in our garden.

The beds have been mulched with a combination of leaves, straw and chicken poop & coop shavings.  Garlic and onions are in the ground. Spring bulbs planted.  But, really, not much to see.

November mid month meanderings at grow and resist

I had hopes for my hoop house... but never covered it. Sigh.

It all was looking good.  Yet, for some reason I couldn’t manage to get it covered. Every day I’d say to myself “You should probably get that covered today. It’s getting pretty cold.” But, nope. No cover.  Forecast of snow and sub-20’s temperatures.  “Ok, seriously. Get your ass out there and put something , anything to cover those plants.” Still nothing.

They took a beating in the snow and cold, yet somehow seem to have survived. Maybe. Next month I’ll let you know.

The lackadaisical approach to cold weather preparations apparently also applied to my outdoor spigots as I didn’t unhooked the hoses or insulate the spigots. And, yes, they froze.  But I managed to thaw them and get them all wrapped up and cozy.

November mid month meanderings at grow and resist

I planted this bed almost completely with garlic and covered it with straw for the winter. The chickens have had a blast digging in the straw and making a general mess of the garden.

Silly chickens. MESSY, silly chickens.  Enough said. Straw is everywhere.

november mid month meanderings at grow and resist

We had some unwelcome visitors from the abandoned shack-of-a-house next door-- 4 raccoons coming out of the giant hole in the roof. Right next to the coop. Crisis averted.

I’m all for peacefully coinciding with the wildlife*. But I think an abandoned house with holes in the roof is asking a bit much.  It is like a party for rats, possums and raccoons in there. And only about 15-20 feet from our house. Agh.

*Except rats, which I will fight to the death.

november mid month meanderings at grow and resist

We got snow! The fluffy chickens weren't quite sure what to think of it all at first, but seemed to enjoy it!

november mid month meanderings at grow and resist

Chickens getting a little drink of water from the tops of the bottle edging.

So, that is it from November.  Hopefully more Mid Month Meanderings next month. And hopefully they’ll occur sometime near mid month!

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November Mid-Month Meanderings (at the End of the Month)

  1. This whole post reminds me of my time living in Point Reyes. It was brief, but oh-so-memorable. Although it sometimes felt a burden (not too often), you really have me missing my big experimental garden.

  2. Pingback: November Mid-Month Meanderings II | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

