Festive Drinking: Pomegranate Sparkling Cocktail

It is Thanksgiving.   A celebration (based on historical fiction) to give thanks.  There are stories of pilgrims and indigenous people and food sharing. What really went down was more colonization and oppression.   I don’t have the answers of how to reconcile it all in the current day.  What I do know is that I love the family, friends, food and togetherness.  And I have an abundance of things to be thankful for and celebrate.

But I cringe at the history.

I am glad that the Babylady’s school doesn’t celebrate any holidays and works from an anti-bias and anti-oppression framework so we don’t have to debunk myths already.   If you are interested in talking to your children (and I think you should) and why it is important check here.

However, this post isn’t about Thanksgiving per se.  It is only about the fabulous drink I mixed up.  I have no idea where the recipe came from other than I found it scribbled on a scrap of paper.  The nice folks at POM sent me some pomegranate juice to try and I knew it would find its way into a cocktail.

pomegranate cocktail at grow and resist

Mmm. I don't know anything about Three Olives. But it was the only pomegranate vodka so I went for it.

Sparkling Pomegranate Lemon Cocktail

  • 2 cup pomegranate juice (you can juice your own, though I have no idea how or why. I used POM)
  • 1 cup pomegranate or cranberry vodka
  • 1-1½ cup sparkling lemon flavored water (I used 1 cup sparkling lemon water and ½ cup sparkling lemonade for a bit more sweetness)

Mix in a pitcher over ice and serve.   Garnish with lemon rind if you are feeling fancy.  If you are looking to go over the top make some trays of ice cubes with a bit of lemon and some pomegranate arils in them.

pomegranate cocktail at grow and resist

Fancy Ice!

pomegranate cocktail at grow and resist

Seriously martha-esque.

pomegranate cocktail at grow and resist

Garnish-a-rama

pomegranate cocktail at grow and resist

in a canning jar. of course.

Drink up! This is gooooood!

This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Festive Drinking: Pomegranate Sparkling Cocktail

  1. Memaw Mary says:

    The drink sounds yummy – we will have to have you make some for Christmas. As far as feelings about Thanksgiving, it never hurts to have a day to take time to pause and thank about all that we do have to be thankful for – we are very thankful for you, Jen and OF COURSE, the Babylady!

  2. Emily says:

    This recipe could not have come at a better time for me. I’m 10 feet from a liquor store and have a lot of pomegranate seeds at home that I need to do something with. Thank you!

  3. Meghan says:

    Can you give me the Babylady’s school’s name? I’m thinking lots about our pumpkin’s schooling lately so am beginning to amass recommendations upon which I can ruminate… miss you guys and hope you are doing well!

  4. Ha! I want this. And I can have it, because I have the juice! Wasn’t it fun to get free juice?

    • Yes! It was fun! Unexpected and fun!
      I used it all up in the drinks… I had to buy more for Round 3 =) We enjoyed them with Briggs, then with the cousins and another evening with friends.
      Make them!

  5. Pingback: Local Product: BroVo Spirits | Grow & Resist

  6. Pingback: Herbal Cocktail: Rhubarb (Mint) Moscow Mule | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

