Kitchen Cure: Gadget-ing around

Last week was the Kitchen Cure started with gusto with a thorough fridge, freezer and pantry cleaning and purging.   The assignment for week #2 was a bit easier- Clean out all those kitchen tools and gadgets. Purge, reorganize and scrub.

Pitfall areas that get in the way of being ruthless with your stuff and purging:

  • Duplicates: 6 nearly identical spatulas? 7 sets of salad servers?  Five 9×13 glass baking pans?  Excessive. Unnecessary. Hogging space. Take an honest look at your things and compare them to your usage. Not your hoped-usage, but actual-usage.  Pare it down.  You don’t need it.  Twenty place settings? Unless you host big dinner parties, you don’t need that many.
  • Sentimental value: It doesn’t matter if it came from your dear Aunt Ruthie, if you haven’t used it in 4 years I’m guess you probably won’t.  Afraid that Uncle will be hurt that you got rid of that ridiculous coffee mug?  Well, buck up. If anything, he is already upset you weren’t using it. So, you might as well clear some space out.
  • Fear of wasting: Storing something for-frickin’-ever and not using it is NOT avoiding waste. It is however hoarding. Maybe not Hoarders-hoarding….but if you aren’t keeping it to use, then what is it?  Hmmm…  So, if you aren’t using it give it away!!  Take it to a friend, a consignment shop or Goodwill and let someone else use it.

My Plan:

Lucky for me, Ladyfriend and I had a yard sale a few months ago and I did some kitchen purging at that time. Apparently not thoroughly enough since I still managed to haul out 2 more paper sacks full.

I also used this chance to move some things around that I thought might improve the flow of things.  The flow had been okay until I moved the spices a month ago or so and in doing so I created a new traffic jam.  Because the new spice location/organization is totally ideal for cooking it was a keeper and I need to make adjustments to restore flow.

I’ve noticed it is difficult to take photos that make sense unless you’ve been in our kitchen.  If you want an overview again peek here:

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Kitchen View #1

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Kitchen View #2

First up: The Drawers

Does everyone have crumbs and gunk in their kitchen drawers?  This is absolutely maddening to me.  It looks like I wipe down my counters directly into my drawers. Really, I promise that I don’t. Nor do I only go in the drawers with my hands covered in gradudzicus (go here for definition.)  The drawers make me shudder a bit. I notice it every time I enter and promise to myself to clean them out.  It is out of my mind by the time the drawer slides shut.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Before: Kitchen tools in some disarray and always seems too crowded. In View #1 this is the right-hand drawer on the microwave wall.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Before: Cutlery. Not too bad! In View #1 this is the left-hand drawer on the same microwave wall.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Other tool drawer on other side of kitchen. This is the draw to the left of the stove in View #2.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist
eww.
kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Yeah. I can't even talk about it. Shudder. Sprayed and ready to scrub.

 

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Much better! Drawer contents swapped and some unneccessary/duplicate items purged. In View #1, the left and right drawers on microwave wall.

Here I switched the contents of the 2 drawers. The left drawer is larger so I moved the overcrowded cooking utensils there and changed the silverware/cutlery to the right-sided drawer.   I eliminated some old crappy dull knifes in the process.  I have no need for them now that we have awesome knifes that cut my fingers at every opportunity.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

close up of left drawer contents

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Close up of right drawer contents

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

After: Drawer next to stove again in View #2.

I moved baking items to this side because the mixer is over there, as are the general baking items. It made sense to have all those items together. I make exceptions to the duplicates-rule when it comes to measuring spoons/cups. If you cook and/or bake a lot you will always find that what you need is dirty. Back ups make your life better in this instance.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Storage jars/containers. I think our jars mate and multiply. I am constantly taking this drawer to task. To no (permanent) avail.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Ha! Better! For now anyway...

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Oh little-corner-unit-thingy! Why are you so easy to toss things into?

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Nice! The box has the immersion blender and bits, as well as the extra blades and such for the food processor.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

One corner bottom unit~ the machines are down there

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Purged a few vases & cleaned (left side)

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

A little more purging- nothing big. A few ice-cube trays, some random plastic lids.

We have (& use) a food processor, rice cooker, ice cream maker, immersion blender, crock pot and blender. I am in the market for a pasta maker and I know I’ll use it. I try not to bring any new things like this into the house unless I have considered it a while.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Baking Central Before

 

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Cleaned up & reorganized (left side)

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Accessible! (right side)

I didn’t get rid of anything in this area, but did get it spiffed up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A few more shots before/after from around the kitchen:

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Glasses. We have a lot of glasses.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

This area is fine except location.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Did a bit of swapping for flow improvement. And yes, that is too many glasses, but the Ladyfriend wasn't home when I did this project and it required some consulting on which we will part with.

kitchen cure week #2 at grow and resist

Plates/bowls where the glass were. Switcheroo.

Stay with me for next week’s Kitchen Cure: Restocking Pantry & Tools.  I’ll be going for the Bonus Round as we are already well stocked.

This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kitchen Cure: Gadget-ing around

  1. Mary Brown says:

    How am I going to find anything when we come up? Are you trying to say that you don’t want us to clean out our stuff and bring it up to you? Shucks, that is probably why you got 3 and 4 of identical items!

  2. Mary Brown says:

    I want you to know that I resisted buying any kitchen gadgets in the huge market today in Seoul. Dad and I kept commenting that we could buy lots of things to fill up all that empty space you have now in your cabinets.

  3. Mike Strain says:

    Love to purge different aspects on my life once in a while – closets, garage, kitchen, – make me feel lighter and less constrained.

Leave a Reply

