50 Ways to Use Your Apple

Ok, not really 50.  I exaggerate. I can’t help it. The Ladyfriend is even prone to calling me the Exaggeratress.

My friend and fellow garden mentor with the Community Harvest of SW Seattle, Amy, recently delivered me 3 enormous boxes of apples.  And I mean ENORMOUS.  She told me many times what variety they are were, but I haven’t managed to retain the information in my brain anywhere.

Needless to say, I’ve been getting my apple processing on.  I didn’t can a thing either!  Thank goodness, as canning that many jars of apples would have taken the better part of my life.  And, while canning is great and all, there needs to be something more. Right? Yes, I am right.

So what to do with an abundance of apples?   Here is what I did!

Applesauce. Unsweetened & unspiced.  I figured I could add some sweetener and/or other flavorings if we wanted it later.  I wanted to leave them versatile.  Apple sauce is simple. Core. Cut into chunks. Cook in some water till soft. Run through food processor until you get the consistency you are after. Pour into jars leaving some head space. Freeze.

I ended up with 27 jars. Yes. 27 big jars. Of Applesauce.  That is a lot of applesauce.  Aside from just eating it though, we use to flavor plain yogurt and in baking.   If I get a hankering later on, I could make fruit leather.  And then there is the Babylady.  Kids eat a fricking lot of applesauce.

Apple Pie Filling.  Standard recipe from Ball.  Nothing fancy, but it’ll come in handy.  I think. I do like apple pie, yet have never been compelled to actually make one. Maybe I’m more of a berry or cream pie person. Or ice cream person.  I don’t know.  But with ready-made pile filling from some great pie apples, I figure I am set to give it a try!  I can also use it in turnovers.  Which I also have not made, but it sounds kind of fun.  “Hey, come on over!  I made fresh apple turnovers!”  I mean really?  You’d come over wouldn’t you?  I know I would!  I made 8 or 9 jars of that and froze them.

Dried Apples.  Cored the apples and cut thick-ish slices ( about ¼”).  Treat to prevent browning. Place on baking sheet in oven at lowest setting (ours is 170°F) and cook a long time until they are shrively, but still somewhat moist/pliable.  I put them in late at night and they were done in the morning.

dried apples grow and resist

I cooked them till they looked about like this.

Once cooled, I placed in gallon size freezer bags and squished as much air out as I could and tossed them in the freezer.  I’ll use them later in things like quick breads, scones, granola bars, etc.

Apple Muffins I followed Mark Bittman’s recipe for quick bread, but made muffins.  And omitted the nuts.  Because I believe nuts have no place in baked goods. Not now. Not ever. Period.

apple muffins; grow and resist

I put a little dusting of dark brown sugar on top...because, well, it is delicious!

Apple Cheddar Rosemary Bread Amazingly yummy!  Apples? Cheese? Rosemary? Yes, yes please.  This bread was great with tomato soup. It made a mean grilled cheese.  And, in a moment of ingenuity, I used it to make savory french toast and placed it on a bed of sautéed kale.   And, it was fantastic.  Make this bread.

apple cheddar rosemary bread; grow and resist

Looks good doesn't it?

Apple Coffee Cake.   Lottie & Doof have a fantastic recipe for Sour Cherry Coffee Cake, but I use it as a master coffee cake recipe for any fruit.  So, in went the apples.  YUM!  I know I have talked about coffee cake before but I will admit I think the Lottie & Doof cake is hands down the better.  However, the other is a much kinder to your waistline. So, if I am after an everyday coffee cake, that is the one I use. Your call- they are both great!  But if you are having guests or a brunch or some such thing- I say go for it and use this recipe. It will never disappoint!

apple coffee cake; grow and resist

Gingerbread Apple Upside-down Cake. Oh Smitten Kitchen. Is there anything you make I don’t love?  I think not.  You’ve not steered me wrong. Ever.  This cake is moist and screams fall!  Dot with a bit of whipped cream (ginger/maple whipped cream, if you are feeling fancy!) or a little scoop of apple sorbet. Yes!

apple gingerbread cake; grow and resist

Save me from myself. For I adore gingerbread. And molasses. Thank goodness it was for a potluck.

Apple Sorbet. The recipe was for red skinned apples, which gave it a lovely pink hue. However, our apples were green-yellow so it was paler. But wow. So good. Sorbet! Where have you been all my cooking/freezing/making life?  Could you be easier?  You don’t even have to core, seed or peel. Just cook down some apples in some wine, run through the food mill and process in an ice cream maker.  Voila!  Frozen goodness!

apple sorbet; grow and resist

Creamy and crisp; so...autumn!

You can also use apples as a natural source of pectin in jam/jelly making, but they need to be a bit underripe and I waited too long to do that.

I have a few more apples left and am thinking of making Apple Custard Pie or Caramel Apple Ice Cream.  Unless anyone has better ideas?

What is your favorite thing to make with apples?

This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 50 Ways to Use Your Apple

  1. Jennifer says:

    holy-johnny-appleseed!! i am seriously inspired and impressed beyond words! i am also now the proud owner of a drool covered lap top….embarrassing given that I am camped at a starbucks. thank you for this sweet, sweet post.

  2. Debi Ivison says:

    can i come over and be your taste tester?

  3. Young Wifey says:

    I’ve never made apple sorbet before, what a great idea!

  4. Kathy M says:

    If you need more apples inspiration (not that you haven’t done enough already!), this is my current favorite delicious apple recipe.

    Fresh Apple Cake:

    2 cups of sugar
    3 large eggs
    1 1/2 c. vegetable oil
    1/4 c. orange juice
    3 c. all purpose flour sifted
    1 tsp. baking soda
    1/4 tsp. salt
    1 T. cinnamon
    1 T. vanilla extract
    3 c. peeled and finely chopped apples
    1 c. shredded coconut
    1 c. chopped pecans (optional)

    Sauce:

    1/2 c. (stick) butter
    1 c. sugar
    1/2 c. buttermilk
    1/2 tsp baking soda

    Instructions:

    Preheat oven to 325F. Generously grease a Bundt pan.

    For cake, combine cake ingredients in a large bowl in the order given and
    mix well. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake 1 1/2 hours.

    Remove cake from oven; let cool 10 minutes. Remove cake from pan and on
    wire rack

    (I just put it on the serving plate and not on rack).

    To make sauce, melt butter in a large saucepan, stir in sugar, buttermilk
    and baking soda and bring to a good rolling boil. Stirring
    Constantly. Boil 1 minute. Pour sauce over the warm cake.

    • sounds fantastic! I was going to make something more tomorrow…and this might just be the thing! Yum! I am currently nearly 1 handed (had surgery this week on my wrist and am in a big ol’ splint)…but I imagine I can figure out how to chop (??)
      Yay apples!

  5. Angela says:

    Yum! I might need to try that apple, cheddar, rosemary bread. I’ll definitely need to try the gingerbread apple upside-down cake and it’s been quite a while since I dragged out the icecream maker so methinks sorbet may be in order.
    Don’t forget cider! We are going to a friend’s annual cider pressing party this Sunday.

  6. Angela- I would love to have made cider! Seattle’s farm coop is having a cider press/harvest barter fair event this weekend too. I don’t have enough left for cider making….but am going to make the ice cream or custard pie in the next few days! If I have enough left I am going to make another cheese bread loaf and try freezing it. It seems like it would freeze well.
    I am dreaming up some peanut butter apple bread right now. I don’t know if it will work but as I was giving the Babylady some apples/peanut butter, the food wheels in my brain starting spinning!

  7. Julia says:

    That apple rosemary cheese bread is mine! You are making wonderful things. Very inspiring!

  8. Pingback: It’s Not the 80′s, But I Love Hot Pepper Jelly! | Grow & Resist

  9. Pingback: Can Jam- November Edition: Pomes (Apples, Pears and Quinces) | Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

