August Mid-Month Meanderings

Is it August?  Because our garden is screaming early July.   At best.  It is increasingly clear our late summer harvest will be a bit underwhelming.   I’m trying to let myself down gently as it is a bit heart-breaking.   So, instead of pouting, I’m celebrating the lushness of it all.

Oh, who am I kidding? I am totally pouting. And whining.  Kind of a lot.

august mid month meanderings garden seattle chickens

The girls, Annie & Thirsty boots, want to show you around

august mid month meanderings garden seattle chickens

Calypso too

august mid month meanderings garden seattle

Looking lush isn't it?

august mid month meanderings garden seattle

The beans are climbing up the ladder trellis.

august mid month meanderings garden seattle

Tools rest high above the Babylady's reach.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Hardy bean vines creep towards the sky

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Purple pepper that just might fully ripen

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

The sunflowers and lavender have really shined

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

We started seeing hummingbirds in the garden for the first time. This time on the Pineapple Sage.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

And beans! After 4 plantings due to bad 'sluggage', we finally have beans!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

and more beans!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

For 18 tomatoes plants, we have a completely UN-impressive amount of fruit. And it is green. Still.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

But look! Some cherry tomatoes are nearly ready! Two is a start right?

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

More green...and the first fully ripe! I picked her today!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Brussel Sprouts...without the sprouts.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Brussel Sprouts with some itty bitty sprouts

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Some seriously dismal looking corn. It is getting yanked in 2 weeks unless we have a killer extended sun/warmth spell. Make way for fall/winter!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

And the little eggplant flower that won't ever become an eggplant. Blasted Seattle summers!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

But we are still getting a lot of strawberries. They go to mush pretty quick, so the chickens are happy too!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Pretty aren't they? Cucumber blossoms!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Baby cukes. I picked 8 full-grown cucumbers and have them brining now for some relish.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

The potatoes are wild! Can't wait to see the harvest!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Leeks! My first time growing them!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

we've had stunning sunflowers of all colors and heights.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

I stuck seeds in everywhere.

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

Including this monster! I'm standing at the base of it looking up!

august mid month meanderings seattle garden

The girls busy in the patch I pulled garlic (48 heads!) and covered with partly finished compost. They are loving that!

I am realizing that I need to pay a bit more attention to plant placement, crop rotation and general planning.   Perhaps this is the summer of learning rather than harvesting…

This entry was posted in chickens, Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to August Mid-Month Meanderings

  1. sustainableeats says:

    Meg, this is like starting a business during a recession. In Seattle if you don’t take risks gardening you aren’t fully utilizing your space and potential. You took some great risks that will pay off in most years, but not this one. The trick is to spread your risks so if one crop doesn’t work out others will and you have done that. And now I hope you have planted your winter crops in flats to move in to the beds because you can at least get a leg up there! I tip my garden hat to you – look how far you’ve come, and how much you’ve learned and Baby Lady is still small. Amazing all you’ve done love.

  2. Carbzilla says:

    We feel your pain – we had almost no raspberries and the birds ate our blueberries.I had one sunflower that only had about 5 petals (WTW – where are the others?). It looked like a dog with mange. We have harvested some of our potatoes and they’ve been great. Hoping our corn can hang in there as it looks promising. Tomatoes are sparce, but Lord knows I had enough kale to feed an army. And then there was the kohlrabi which I don’t even remember planting. I’ve yet to grow a brussels sprout. 😦 I guess on the bright side – our wild Himalayan blackberries went berserk, and we’ve enjoyed some of them!

  3. Annette- it is true! And every year is different…last year I had a bagazillion tomatoes that I am just now finishing up! The year before we had oddly fantastic corn, etc. Over the course of 3 years there has been a lot of learning and switching. I usually figure that seeds are cheap and I might as well try. But now I am kind of in a space of ‘seeds are cheap, but I can as well give them the best chance possible.’ My efforts in that area have been minimal so far.
    I do have fall/winter seeds in flats that I am planting out (though, they are oddly small).
    This winter…I’m making a plan!

    Carbzilla- what is up with the sunflower? Bizarre huh? The Case of the Missing Petals. =) Too true about the blackberries…I went picking last night YUM. Hope your corn hangs in there. I think kale my be the PNW’s zucchini, huh?

  4. this is my best year yet – i actually have loads of corn which i have never been able to accomplish before – yet when i harvested one the other day i discovered what at first glance looked like mold on the outside and on closer inspection seemed to be millions of little black bugs and they were inside too!

    but i keep trying – learning a tiny little bit more each year 🙂

    • Deb- I wonder what the bugs were? Were they on all the cobs? Interesting. Let us know what you find out! All my brassica leaves are being munched on.
      Congrats are the corn and hopefully no more black buggies!

      • seems to be on all of them 😦

        but, hey, i grew corn this year inside of starts that didn’t get bigger than knee high all summer so that’s a big improvement – maybe next year we’ll get to eat some!!!

  5. Julia says:

    Meg, I think it all looks very lush! Those beans are great! I always experience a slump in mid-August when I realize my dreams have been dashed. I’ve had my permanent garden now for five years, and I really believe it gets better every year. But that doesn’t mean I get so upset when something doesn’t work!

  6. aastricker says:

    I didn’t space well this year either. And, I didn’t heed any sort of companion planting rules. I was so busy sifting compost that I just threw things in beds once the beds were done so they wouldn’t die. Next year.
    Your garden looks beautiful even if it isn’t as productive as you like. 🙂

  7. Wow. I’m jealous. I have some flowering on some of my plants, but the flowers just die off and nothing happens. The soil here is beyond poor, and my back yard is overrun with tree roots and sucker growth. Hopefully next year I can be a little bit more proactive from the get go. Our fruit trees didn’t produce much of anything this year either and I just don’t know what is up. Nevada summer and beginning gardening are mutually exclusive I think. 😛

Leave a Reply

