The Chicks are in the House!

Today I brought home the first batch of chicks!  3 Buff Orpingtons and 1 Ameraucana.  Tomorrow we’ll be getting some Polish chicks.  The Ameraucana was unintended…but the blue/green eggs will be fun and I couldn’t resist.

too cute!

More pictures and information as soon as I figure out how to be a baby chick mom!

This entry was posted in chickens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Chicks are in the House!

  1. taylorgirl6 says:

    Congrats! Are these your first babies? I’m wishing you the best of luck. Don’t be clumsy I like I was with our current brood, but don’t be afraid either.

    By the way, I’ve just recently started reading your blog after following your comment on mine. It sounds like we have a lot in common!

    • Yep! They are our firsts! I’m kinda crazy in love with them already! So cute! I feel a bit clueless, but they seem to like their brooder home. I go pick up the 2nd batch tomorrow!

  2. aastricker says:

    Love it! They are so cute and they change so quickly. My babies are two whole weeks old now. This afternoon my daughter said, “Mom, what happened to your cute little fluffballs? Now they just look like chickens.” We have an Easter Egger chick. I’m hoping she lays blue eggs, but green is more likely.

  3. Beth says:

    Is one of these a boy chicken? I admit, I am unclear on what you need, but you need a boy right? Just one though? Sigh, I am such a city girl.

  4. cookie monster says:

    No boys needed for egg laying….only if you want to hatch your own chicks. We bought these sexed…but I there are mistakes sometimes so one could turn out to be a rooster. We are hoping not though! We love our little chick babies!!!

  5. Beth says:

    Gotcha, and on further thought, that makes total sense. I must not have had my coffee when I posted. Good luck!

  6. Jennifer Jabson says:

    O.M.G. these little fluffies are too much! I LOVE THEM. I cannot wait to hear about the sure to come chicken adventure stories! cannot wait to see more on these little cutie-pies!

  7. Tengrain says:

    We have a newsgroup here in Silicon Valley for the Hen set: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/svchickens/

    You might want to see if there is something closer to you. But I gotta tell you, find ’em. I’ve never seen such an active group, and they ask and answer questions like demons.

    I’m hen-less, but I long for the day…

    Regards,

    Tengrain

  8. Meg they are adorable! We have an easter egger too and she’s very sweet. The kids love seeing her blue eggs. Did you know there is a Seattle Urban Farming Coop with a yahoo chat group where you can post questions or buy chicken food at wholesale prices? We even have a fall barter fare and trade things we’ve made or put up. You should join!

    xo,
    Annette

  9. Julia says:

    Congrats! We went chicken this summer, too, except I got year-old laying hens. Love my girls!

  10. Pingback: Chicks « Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

  11. TC_BokBok says:

    Just found your site through Angela’s over at http://hippieingeeksclothing.wordpress.com. Thanks for sharing and good luck with your babies! Our just turned 3 weeks old on Monday and WOW have they changed.

    Good luck and enjoy the ride!

  12. Pingback: A (repurposed-upcycled) Brooder « Grow & Resist

Leave a Reply

