Super-Citrus-Freak. Or How I Can’t Stop Canning.

Ok, first, there is a lot of awesome canning going on.  Damn these people are good and I certainly feel a bit out of my league.  Thank god I’m fearless in the kitchen!  The Can Jam is knocking my socks off.  And the Tigress’ January Round-up was great– a fun read and chock full of information!  I might need to study it.  Re-read it.  Perhaps even snuggle with it.  Ok, maybe I went to far with that one…but you get my drift.  Rockin’.  I can’t wait to find out what Doris & Jilly come up with for February’s star ingredient.

My hands were wiped clean.  The Ruby Red Grapefruit Marmalade was put away.  And yet.  Intrusive thoughts.  I.Can’t.Get.Citrus.Off.My.Mind.  A lovely box of organic lemons brought to me from California by my folks sitting on the counter.  Taunting me.  What to do?

Lemons. Taunting me.

Answer: Put the babylady down for a nap and pull up the recipe I drooled about over at Backyard Farms for Spiced Pickled Lemons on the computer.  Then wash, slice, boil, fill and process at lightening speed.   While I simultaneously clean the kitchen, unload/load dishwasher, pick up house and strain/bottle some Cherry-Vanilla Bitters that has been steeping…..because  SHE IS ASLEEP!

Recipe:

(from Madame Benoit Cooks at Home via Backyard Farms)

9 large lemons

2 1/4 cup sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 cup water

1 cup cider vinegar

1 cinnamon stick (which I only now realized I forgot to put in. BOO!)

1/2 tsp whole allspice (I was a little closer to 1 tsp)

1 small ginger root (I used a 3-4″ piece coarsely chopped)

5 whole cloves

~~~~

Wash & dry lemons.  Slice without peeling into 1/4″ slices.  Bring water, vinegar, salt, sugar and spices to a boil for 5 minutes.  Add lemon slices and boil for 1 minute.   Pack hot. sterile canning jars and fill with liquid.  Leave 1/2″ head space and process for 15 minutes.

Is this a 'small amount'?

Our house smells amazing (or did until I burnt pizza…) and the brine was so tasty I wanted to drink it as it was.  However, it should sit for 2-3 weeks and soften up the rind some more and really let the flavor infiltrate.  Then I will eat with aged white cheddar (ooh, or maybe white stilton?) and a glass of port as suggested.  Mmm, heavenly.

Ready for liddin' & bathin'

This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Super-Citrus-Freak. Or How I Can’t Stop Canning.

  1. Travel Mommy says:

    Glad you are using the lemons – when we come in March we will bring another big bag of lemons. The neighbors in back have a huge lemon tree that has a LARGE branch hanging in our yard which we love! Plus they (the neighbors) are always ready to give us more lemons!! It is a beautiful tree!

  2. Heather says:

    I’m so pleased you decided to try out our recipe. I’m sure Mdme Benoit would approve of the CanJam and would love to know that her recipes are being passed on to a whole new generation of canners!

  3. teakate says:

    I want to eat those!!

Leave a Reply

