CanJam- January Edition: Citrus

For the Tigress Can Jam challenge this month the ingredient was citrus.   Since it is impossible to source locally grown citrus in the Pacific Northwest…well, ever… I just chose something that I love- grapefruit- and made a Ruby Red Grapefruit Marmalade with Vanilla.

I tweaked a recipe I found on recipezaar a bit.     To be honest, I chose this recipe over other grapefruit marmalade recipes because it sounded easier than the others I had considered.  I was a wee bit apprehensive for my first challenge canning.   And really, I wanted/needed to get it done & canned while the babylady napped.

3 organic ruby reds

No, they weren’t the purdiest looking bunch of grapefruit any of us have ever seen.    But let’s get to it.

~~~~~~~~

3 large organic ruby red grapefruit

53 oz. of white sugar

5/8 cup bottled lemon juice

zest of 1 lemon

seeds of 1 vanilla bean

~~~~~~~~

Boil whole grapefruit in a large pot with enough water that they can roll around (See!  How easy is that?!)

Let boil for up to 2 hours.   I took mine off after 1.5 hours as they were very soft at that point.  You just want them soft enough to stick a fork in easily.

Allow to cool.   Slice in half and remove seeds.   I then just ripped the halves into smaller chunks.  You could be civilized and use a knife, but I got right in there with my bare (but very clean) hands.

Put all the grapefruit juice & chunks, sugar, lemon zest and lemon juice in large pot.  I cooked it over medium-ish heat until the sugar was dissolving.

I then gave the pot a run through with my immersion blender to break up the chunks into the consistency I wanted.

Add vanilla bean seeds and bring to mix to a boil.  Cook about 10 minutes or so until is at gel point.

Ladle into your hot jars leaving 1/4″ headroom and hot water process for 10 minutes.

Made 9 lovely half-pints

~~~~~~~~

Lessons from the Jam: Part I

*While the immersion blender was awesomely easy and gave the marmalade a consistency that I actually think I prefer, slicing the grapefruit would likely give it a more traditional texture.

*Boiling the whole grapefruit, however, was brilliant.  A stroke of genius if you ask me.  Who wants to peel and zest and de-pith, blanch and re-blanch?     Not me.   I am, quite frankly, sucky at all-things-tedious.  I just don’t have the attention span.

*I learned that I would likely feel more confident about canning if I could trust things like “gel point.”  I never quite believe the test.   I want things to come out the consistency in which you end cooking them.   In the past I have made some very runny and very sturdy jams due to this.    Maybe the larger lesson is to “trust the process.’    Which is unintentionally “punny” now that I think about it.

*Finally, I learned that your tongue will pucker if you eat too much grapefruit marmalade and that a well-timed toddler nap is awesome.  ‘Cuz no one likes a accidently scalded toddler.

homemade toast, cream cheese & grapefruit marmalade

cooked grapefruit

oh the irony of the weightwatchers scale and piles of sugar combo...

lemon juice

an immersion swirlin'

in to the bath with you lot!

Mmmm...

This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to CanJam- January Edition: Citrus

  1. Travel Mommy says:

    Is there any left for us? This sounds yummy!

  2. ap269 says:

    YUM! LOL about the Weight Watchers scale and the sugar – it’s hilarious.

  3. Libby says:

    This looks great! I love the grapefruit and vanilla combo. Have you ever made cake with ground up whole boiled citrus? That’s good, too.

  4. Julia says:

    Gorgeous! And I am sooo with you on the well timed nap. I have a fifteen month old and it’s allll about the nap!

  5. Kate says:

    Looks tasty!! In the first marmalade I made, using a Scottish recipe (which called for using the ‘pips’–hehe), I boiled the whole fruit whole, too. I loved that method.

  6. Catalina says:

    Whole boiled grapefruit? Why didn’t I think of that?!? Great idea! Yummy looking pictures too – that scale pic is funny!

  7. Pingback: Saying Farewell to Citrus- you tart! Hello Carrots (wink wink). « Grow & Resist

  8. Pingback: Can Jam- March Edition: Alliums « Grow & Resist

  9. Pingback: Can Jam- April Edition: Herbs! « Grow & Resist

  10. Pingback: Can Jam- May edition: Rhubarb! « Grow & Resist

  11. Pingback: Can Jam- July Edition: Cucurbits! | Grow & Resist

  12. Pingback: Spice Rack: Spicy Roasted Garlic-Preserved Lemon Pasta with Chickpeas | Grow & Resist

  13. esp says:

    I’m making this right now…thanks for the recipe! I had a hard time finding a marmalade recipe with just grapefruit and no other citrus.

Leave a Reply

